LES PAPILLONS

For more than 16 years, Les Papillons have been elaborating exceptional, impressing and consistently vivid collages of well-known tracks they have borrowed from the archives of the past centuries of music history. What happens if you deprive a classical masterpiece of its seriousness, or if a pop song suddenly sounds like a piece written by Mozart, or if two fundamentally different compositions enter into a dialogue with each other? And what if you are at a complete loss and can’t pin down any of the melody sources at all?

In their adaptations, Giovanni Reber and Michael Giertz mainly draw on one vital emanation of our times: The condensation of things. Everything has to be quick, abundant, compact, and – on top of it – everything has to happen all at once. That’s exactly what Les Papillons will serve you – with one little difference: They do their utmost to restore form and esprit to this everyday chaos of musical impressions. And rest assured, you will certainly not miss out on great fun when listening to the sometimes quiz-like performances!

Les Papillons invite their audience to delve into their multifaceted universe. Engaging in witty playfulness and breath-taking virtuosity, spicing it all up with a pinch of drama and a good ear for a precise timing, they hold up a creative mirror to the world of music, while at the same time making a low bow to it.

 

Other milestones:


In 2016, Les Papillons won the audience prize of the "Herborner Schlumpeweck 2016"-Award.

In 2013, Les Papillons won the King’s Crown at the Fringe Theatre Festival „The Crowning“ in Aadorf, Switzerland.

In 2010, on the occasion of their 10-year anniversary, Les Papillons launched their second CD. The new album entitled „Le Grand Tour“ catches about 70 hits from 300 years of musical history.

In 2006, their debut album „Mémorïques“ came out.

In 2004, Les Papillons were awarded the Young Talents Award at the “Central European Fringe Theatre Awards” in Winterthur, Switzerland.

Michael Giertz (piano), born in 1966

Michael Giertz spent his musical childhood playing the violin. For many years, he self-educated himself to play the piano and, to his own amazement, passed the admission examination at the Academy of Music in Bienne, Switzerland, where he studied piano until he flunked out of school again… Subsequently, he studied music sciences at the University of Basle. At the same time, he took his first tentative steps on stage as a pianist for “Chanson Fatale” and as a violinist for “Music à la Crème“. After meeting Giovanni Reber, the two musicians set about a “humorous concerto evening” – the unforeseeable repercussions of which have been lasting until today…

Giovanni Reber (violin), born in 1981

Giovanni Reber never even contemplated passing an entry examination at a university in the first place. Instead, aged only 18, he started right away to turn the world of music upside down together with Michael Giertz. At the young age of four, a violin was thrust in his hands. Later on – and thanks to his career as a bartender – he found his own way to bring his instrument close to a young audience and made entire nightclubs dance to the tunes of his live performances. Today he is also active as a musical director of theatre groups.

LES PAPILLONS

Les Papillons élaborent depuis dix-sept ans des assemblages, étonnants, marquants et parfois déjantés de morceaux célèbres empruntés à divers répertoires musicaux. Que se passe-t-il lorsque l’on enlève son côté sérieux à un monument de la musique classique, lorsqu’on fait sonner une chanson pop comme du Mozart, lorsque deux morceaux que tout oppose commencent à dialoguer ou lorsqu’on ne sait plus du tout à quel genre appartiennent les diverses mélodies?

Pour leurs arrangements, Giovanni Reber et Michael Giertz se réfèrent avant tout à un phénomène actuel: la compression des choses. Tout doit être rapide, compact, et présenté d’un bloc. C’est ce que proposent également Les Papillons, en cherchant toutefois à rendre à ce chaos d’impressions musicales une forme et un esprit. Leur performance, qui fait parfois penser à un quiz, amuse à coup sûr!

Les Papillons invitent les auditeurs à plonger dans leur univers ramifié. Avec leur sens du gag, leur virtuosité époustouflante, une touche de théâtralité et un bon timing, ils présentent une fresque de la musique sous toutes ses formes, et rendent par là même, hommage à chacune d’elles.

 

Divers:

En 2016 Les Papillons ont gagné le Prix du public du "Herborner Schlumpeweck 2016"

En 2013, à Aardorf, Les Papillons ont été nommés Roi du Cabaret au Festival de cabaret «Die Krönung».

Les Papillons ont sorti leur deuxième CD en 2010 – à l’occasion de leurs dix ans d’existence. Leur nouvel album «Le Grand Tour» réunit environ 70 tubes issus de 300 ans d’histoire de la musique.

En 2006 sort leur premier album : «Mémorïques».

En 2004 les Papillons ont obtenu à Winterthur le prix d’encouragement du «Prix du cabaret d’Europe centrale».

 

 

Michael Giertz (piano), né en 1966

Michael Giertz passe son enfance musicale en compagnie d’un violon. Il apprend le piano en autodidacte et est le premier surpris lorsqu’il réussit le concours d’entrée au conservatoire de Bienne. Il y étudie le piano jusqu’à ce qu’il quitte à nouveau l’école... Il étudie ensuite la musicologie à l’Université de Bâle. En parallèle, il s’essaye à la scène, en tant que pianiste pour «Chanson Fatale» et de violoniste pour «Music à la Crème», jusqu’à ce qu’il s’attaque avec Giovanni Reber à un «lustigen Konzertabend», dont les conséquences insoupçonnées se font ressentir encore aujourd’hui.

 

Giovanni Reber (violon), né en 1981

Giovanni Reber n’a pas même essayé de passer les examens d’une haute école; à l’âge de 18 ans, il s’est directement consacré à bousculer le monde de la musique en compagnie de Michael Giertz. A l’âge de quatre ans, il avait déjà un violon entre les mains. Plus tard – grâce à son expérience de barman – il réussit à faire connaître son instrument à un public jeune et à faire danser des boîtes entières lors de ses performances en live. Aujourd’hui, il travaille également en tant que responsable musical pour des troupes de théâtre.